Some disasters or calamities bring some opportunities in disguise. Some people think there is always a silver lining to a problem, while others think that disasters are always damaging. Put across your opinion with relevant supporting points or examples.

There is a belief amongst few that catastrophe's can sometimes have a positive impact while others are of the belief that it causes damage invariably. In my opinion, calamities have a severe negative impact not only on the human race, but also on the entire ecosystem consisting of plants and animals as well in some of the cases. Undoubtedly, disasters exacerbate health problems of the society. Moreover, events such as earthquakes, Tsunami can cause severe physical injuries and are considered fatal as well. Additionally, other disasters can have adverse impact not only on physical condition, but also the mental health of an individual. For instance, a current ongoing pandemic of COVID-19, which is an airborne disease, has affected lungs of the contracted people resulting in thousands of deaths around the world. Therefore, it has forced governments around the globe to order a complete lockdown impacting social lives of everyone, creating emotional turbulence. Furthermore, families of people dying are going through additional emotional trauma. Consequently, calamities have a prodigious downward effect on various business sectors of the society. Thus, various people lose their employment due to the slowdown in the markets. The paucity of resources due to unemployment renders a hurdle to fulfil their rudimentary needs as well. Moreover, slowness in markets significantly impacts the national economy as well. For example, in this current pandemic due to the closure of businesses, people have lost their jobs resulting in a global recession and sinking of economics around 5% including developed nations such as United Nations, France, Italy etc. To conclude, humans are the social animals and love to be surrounded by their friends and loved ones and disasters definitely deters them to lead their normal life. Moreover, calamities affect economies as well. So, according to me catastrophe is always harmful in one of the other ways.