Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses, nevertheless they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities.

It is true that mental illness being is not as visible as physical sickness, in spite of this, they affect badly in their own way. Nonetheless, the society seems to accept more of those with body than mental diseases. For some reasons, I believe that mental disabilities should be taken seriously. On the one hand, it is understandable why physical issues are more priority than mental illnesses. The main reason of this is that people who suffer from physical disabilities can see all the problems that relate to their body. As a result, they would most likely go to the doctors and then issues can be treated and diagnosed easily. In addition, it is a mindset of society that when considering to illnesses, people often think of physical issues. On the other hand, I think that people who suffer from mental illnesses are at risk as those of physical sickness. Statistics show that the number of people who have psychological disorders are the same as those have physical problems. In fact, the number of this is much higher because the data do not show the amount of people who keep silent about their diseases and do not go to the doctors. Moreover, it is difficult to treat the psychological illnesses. This is because the symptoms of these diseases are vague for any particular issues. They take a long time to be treatable for example years of therapy and medicines, sometimes these diseases even come back. Therefore, they could put a strain on people’s budget because of years of treatment. Also, the society is lack of the number of hospitals and doctors who have profession about the psychological issues. In conclusion, even though mental disorders are not obvious as physical diseases, they are harmful to human health in the their ways and there should be more priorities for these kind of diseases.