Some countries sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this.

In this competitive world, some people think that sponsoring sports is the best marketing tool for countries whilst others disagree and think it is a bad practice. I agree with the former one, and in this essay I will discuss both points of view. It is clear that sports have provided the best means of marketing than ever before. One of the benefits is that it helps in boosting the friendly relationship among countries. For example, every year, Iran conducts friendly sports events with other countries in order to make their friendship bond more strongly. Exchanging cultural values can also be considered as a benefit. For instance, whenever any sports team comes to India, they, apart from playing sports, also visit various tourist places; as a result, they carry Indian culture back to their country. On the other hand, some people make the opposing case. They argue that by organizing the sports events, the country is just wasting the tax payers’ money which can be utilized in better ways. To exemplify, in India, instead of spending too much money on sports, the government should use it to provide basic needs like food and education to the needy ones. They further argue that sports players nowadays have been involved in illegal activities, because of which sports are not the true medium for promotion. For instance, recently many cricket players have been facing legal charges for taking bribes from gamblers. In my opinion, both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that with a view to enhancing their friendly relations and to interchange cultural values, countries should finance sports to publicize themselves.