Some countries sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this.

Owing to new trends in advertisements, mega companies financially support a sports team to advertise their products. Many opine, it is a positive development. However, others think this has major drawbacks. In my opinion, such offers must be availed. Nowadays, many companies are trying to boost their revenue, by advertising, as it attracts many customers. Hence, the trend of marketing investment in sports is common and beneficial for investors as well as sports as a whole. For illustration, the Pakistan hockey federation was unable to bear the expenses of athletes, due to lack of funds. But then all the funds were sponsored by an international company, leading to participation of players, at an international level. In addition, consumer spending of such company nearly doubled within months. On the other hand, a major issue is encountered in the form of bias reviews. As an illustration, many viewers will cheer for their favourite investors rather than a team, which is full of skills and sportsmanship spirit. Consequently, money will replace natural talent and hard work. Therefore, producing a negative impact on sports. FURTHERMORE, organizing the sports events, the country is just wasting the tax payers’ money which can be utilized in better ways. To exemplify, in India, instead of spending too much money on sports, the government should use it to provide basic needs like food and education to the needy ones. They further argue that sports players nowadays have been involved in illegal activities, because of which sports are not the true medium for promotion. For instance, recently many cricket players have been facing legal charges for taking bribes from gamblers. To conclude, some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. In my view, these kind of activities must be performed to aid sports in every aspect. This trend will increase in foreseeable future.