Some countries have introduced a law to limit working hours for employees. Why is this law introduced? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that a law to restrict working hours has been established in several countries for some reasons. This implementation has affected employers and employees in various ways and in my opinion there are both positive and negative effects. The introduction of a law to limit working hours has a range of effects, both beneficial and negative, for employers and employees. There are two motives for such legislation: to prevent exploitation and to create more job availability. In countries where there is no such law, employees are more open to exploitation, and instead of a normal working day, they may be compelled to do physically demanding and dangerous jobs beyond what is reasonable, and with little or even no extra pay. Restricting maximum working hours is a way to protect the rights of employees in the workplace. Another benefit is the creation of more employment, so providing greater opportunitiesfor more people to get a job. Applying such a law can benefit both employees and employers. Restriction on working time helps members of staff achieve a better work-life balance. For example, they will find time for their regular exercise and for family life if working hours are fixed. This can contribute positively to improvement in their physical and mental health. When employees have better health, their productivity will increase and hence this may improve the efficiency and profitability of their organization. However, the limitation of working time can also have a negative effect on the business. With employees working fewer hours, it may be necessary to employ more people in order to remain competitive. Increasing the number of employees may affect profitability. This could lead employers to reduce pay, which in turn could lead to employee dissatisfaction and turn over. In conclusion, it seems to me that while limiting hours of work can create a more encouraging working environment, not all of the outcomes will be positive.