Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime.

It has been argued by many that the crime rate has increased in many parts of the world and the best way to control is to enhance the police on the roads. In my opinion, I agree with this as the policemen will be very effective in this, but the creation of awareness in the masses will also help in this struggle. On the one hand, increasing the army will be helpful to control the criminals. Firstly, the law enforcing agencies on the streets will create a deterrence in the population. Secondly, the laws will be implemented in true letter and spirit. Moreover, the individuals with bad intentions will be afraid of getting caught and being punished. So, all this will produce a safe environment for the living. For example, the government of Belgium has increased the strength of forces to counter terrorism. On the other hand, the state should inculcate a sense of responsibility in its citizens. There should be mass campaigns organized at the national level to create a feeling of hatred against those who break the laws. Furthermore, every individual must be given basic training of self defence and to combat with the terrorists. Although, it's a difficult task, but it will help in decreasing such heinous activities. For instance, the Switzerland has almost no army and still it has negligible criminal activity due to the educated populace. To conclude, I believe that the rulers should invest both in the education of the people and expansion of the soldiers to counter the law and order situations.