Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime.

The perpetual criminal activities in some countries are extremely hard to handle nowadays. Some people advocate for more physical presence of police on the streets as a solution for this uncontrollable situation. Though it might address this problem to some extent, injecting more police personal onto the public streets is simply not a viable solution, because of its cost. I believe that there are other measures like surveillance and gun control which are more efficient approaches to eradicate crime from being infested the society. Firstly, Surveillance is an economical option compared to mass incorporation of police on the streets. All it takes is installation of cameras in each and every corner of the street to get maximum ground coverage. This way, if some crime happens, police force can specifically target the location where the incident is being taken place, and address that issue within minutes. This is a very efficient way to handle the unlawful activities happen on the streets. Secondly, Gun control is another strategy to putout arms from the hands of criminals, and Citizens of society for that matter. For instance, In the US, many people got killed in recent times to gun violence, where assault style guns were used by normal citizens of society who never had a criminal record on them. Had they not had guns in their hands, which can spray hundreds of bullets in seconds, the mass execution of humans could have been avoided. Countries like Australia, Netherlands and India, which have stricter gun control laws are able to eliminate military style execution from taking place. In conclusion, we should be able to take measures that could eliminate the origins of the crime from the root level rather filling the streets with more policemen. In my perspective, beefing up the presence of police independently may not be a viable solution to eradicate the crime.