Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believe that having more police on the streets is best way to reduce and combat crime.

Few countries are confronted with an increase in the number of criminal activities. It is often argued the best method of minimizing the crime rates is by deploying more police on the streets. I completely disagree with this notion and believe that illegal activities can be controlled by increasing awareness among the public and setting up CCTV cameras on the streets. First of all, I believe that the most effective method of reducing the number of crimes is by making citizens aware of the situations where such events can happen. For that, the government should launch campaigns in order to provide pertinent information to city dwellers about people with criminal behaviour. When the public becomes aware of the crimes that can happen in particular situations, they will take preventive measures to avoid them. For instance, people will avoid walking alone at night, particularly in areas where there are fewer people. Also, they will refrain from carrying a large amount of cash and wearing expensive jewellery in crowded streets. This will eventually lead to a reduction in the number of criminal incidences. Secondly, installing CCTV cameras on the streets throughout the city can help curb crime rates to some extent because it will be tough for criminals to hide their identity with those cameras everywhere. Even if some people with ill motives try to indulge in criminal acts, they will be caught using the CCTV footage which will discourage criminals for those activities. Furthermore, this will help the government reduce the number of police personnel employed for security purposes. Thus, installation of the surveillance system might reduce the crime more effectively with lesser number of police on the streets. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the view that the effective method to reduce illegal activities is by increasing the number of police in streets because increasing awareness among citizens and installing CCTVs for surveillance are far better methods.