Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree?

Crime is like a cancer in this modern era. Many countries of this world are facing the issue of tremendous increase in crime rate. Because of which, people believe that there should be more police officers patrolling the streets. I partly agree with this view. Firstly, patrolling can prevent illegal activities as this might help create a sense of fear in the minds of criminals. The lack of surveillance leads to more unlawful activities. If the law enforcement officers are out on the streets of the violent areas, then there will be less illegal activities because they get caught. Secondly, it gives citizens a sense of protectiveness. For example, if there is something unlawful happening, then it is easier for people to report it to the police officers and they can arrive at the crime scene faster. This can help in saving the victim from the adversaries. However, I do believe that placing more force on the ground is not a solution to this problem. For the surveillance purposes, cameras can be installed on the streets, shopping areas etc. To solve this problem, the mentality of the people, law system etc. , needs to be updated. For instance, there are many officials of law who are corrupt and have joined hands with the bad guys to earn some extra money. The administration needs to make sure that such officers get severe punishments for their betrayal to the community. Moreover, the government must try to make stricter laws and ensure that they get implemented at the ground level. All the criminals must get strict punishments. To conclude, I do agree that installing more police officers on the ground can help prevent lawlessness, but this is not the effective way. To effectively reduce crime, the government needs to work on changing the mentality of people, make stricter laws, so that no offender gets out without any sentence.