Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce these increasing levels of crime.

The rate of crime is nowadays considerably increasing all over the world, and people have to face this massive issue in many features of their daily routine. So, they absolutely trust in government and hope that politicians find a method to solve this problem out. Some people claim that the government should enhance the amount of policemen on the streets, in order that order is kept. I strongly disagree with this view, because in my opinion order cannot be kept by restricting the control. As a matter of fact, crime is increasing because criminals make wrong and illegal choices, that they would undertake even if the level of police control arises. A possible alternative approach could be to improve level of education in the suburbs, to help people to distinguish what is legal and what is not. Moreover, another feasible approach would be increasing the communication in specific areas that are much more dangerous than others. Teachers there might be trained to empathize as much as possible with their students, and some counselling centres could be established. Chatting with some experts people can describe crucial situations that they are currently living, and at the same time they would be reassured and encouraged to solve their issues out. On the other hand, a more restricted control could drive people crazy and increase the percentage of crimes. For instance, a criminal might persuade honest people that policemen are encroaching their streets and a sense of hatred could be developed against institutions. To sum up, in my view is fundamental that individuals understand by their own the negative consequences that committing crimes has.