Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime.

It is true that some nations are fighting against the burgeoning of criminal rate. It is considered by many that increasing number of police on the streets is only solution to minimise crime. While I agree that more police is a good idea, I believe there are various ways to alleviate violation of law. Most of the people believe that allocating more police by local authorities at crime hotspots is able to keep the stability of security status in those areas. Statistics have shown that predominant cause of illegal activities is lack of surveillance. By raising the quantity of police, unlawful activities are more likely to be prevented from the beginning. Furthermore, increasing the presence of police allows local residents to deter crimes by reporting potential breach of law as a delay may leads to adverse consequences. However, I think it is a short-term solution. In my opinion, government should apply technology, enforce the existing laws, and develop a better economy. Firstly, the government should install technology such as CCTV systems to put the streets under control twenty-four hours per day. Although applying technology may be a costly method, Secondly, authorities involved should enforce the law by imposing heavier punishment such as death penalty, and ban civilian from owning assault weapons legally. Lastly, criminal issues can be tackled when the economy is stable as everyone has a source of income which will lead to lesser people to be involved in illegal activities such as robbing and stealing. In conclusion, placing more law enforcers on the streets is not the most reliable way to reduce criminal rate. There should be a change in the outdated legal systems, use of high-tech systems and improved economy to minimize unlawful act effectively.