Some companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that it is good. Others think there are disadvantages to this.

Globally, sponsorship of sporting events is becoming very popular. Organisations see these programs as a great opportunity to showcase their products to the world due to the popularity that sports garner. While some people welcome this with open hands and look forward to the adverts, others are dismayed and believe this has lots of demerits. In my opinion, I believe that despite some of the threats this might pose, there are lots of merits for which this idea should be encouraged. On the one hand, those who do not support promotion of sporting events by these big brands are of the opinion that these events have no age restriction therefore some of the adverts might not be age appropriate. Also, it is said that it can promote consumerism. For instance, a youngster might develop an interest in a product which he or she does not need, neither can the parents afford it. The need for this particular item might push the child to partake in some social vices such as stealing or pick-pocketing. On the other hand, showcasing of company products through advertisement hassled to increased employment opportunities, lucrativeness of the sporting industry, making the games more attractive for children who want to participate as a result of the funding that they receive, more revenue for both the companies that sponsor and the sponsored sporting organisation and job creation for creative workers. For example, Football all over the world has boomed and gained lots of recognition as a result of all the sponsorship it has received from companies like Nike, Fubu etc. This has made it more attractive to the youths and has created a lot of employment opportunities and also increase in per capita income of the economies of the host countries. In conclusion, my view is that the sponsorship of these companies through their adverts has helped in booming the economy viz a viz the sporting industry and therefore should be encouraged. However, the negative effects of the advertisement can be worked on.