Some companies and organizations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

There is no doubt that most of the workplaces offer dress code and it is becoming a trend nowadays. While there are many benefits of having a uniform, there are also some drawbacks to consider. This essay will discuss both sides of the statement. One of the most significant benefit of having dress code is disciplined atmosphere in the organization. In addition, it is a social leveler and create uniformity in the staff members. For instance, if everyone is wearing a uniform, no one will feel inferior or superior after judging co-worker’s clothes. Moreover, when employees are working with pre-defined dress, they are more presentable and can be identified easily. To illustrate, workplaces like fast food, grocery stores really need a dress code. Professionals like lawyers and doctors, nurses must wear dress code because it sets the tone for their profession. Turning to the other side of the argument, wearing the same dress on the daily basis could be boring for the employees and they may feel less motivated. It is quite possible that some employees might not be comfortable to wear, which may result to lack of enthusiasm for doing tasks. This problem can be lessened, if employer would ask employees for a say on uniform choice. And, asking employees to wear clothes of their choice at least once or twice a week. In conclusion, although wearing uniform is good practice with some negligible disadvantages. Employers should broaden their horizons in a positive way so they can overcome these advantages for the satisfaction of their staff members.