Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions.

A large number of individuals who join an organisation are often lacking in soft skills. This is mainly because of the lack of training and unawareness about workplace etiquettes. There are a number of measures that can be taken to improve the situation at work. Firstly, the reason for the new employees to lack basic skills is the insufficient experience while joining the industry. In other words, joiners who are often picked up from college campuses via placement drives are unaware of the rules of the professional world. Secondly, they are still in the college mindset and it takes them a while to make the gradual shift from being carefree to being responsible. To illustrate, a fresher would sometimes be unaware about the organizational structure and might skip the hierarchy to complete an assigned task and would often come across as non cooperative. Moreover, the knowledge imparted in closed classrooms is completely different from the skills needed to survive and succeed in a workplace. Although these traits can cause serious problems at work, there are some solutions that can be implemented to curb this situation. There are two possible solutions to improve cooperative skills on the job. One way to tackle this situation is to ensure that all freshers are required to undergo a mandatory training program in which the associates are taught the organisational structure, workplace dynamics with main emphasis on soft skills development. By doing that the businesses will be rest assured that the employees are following a protocol and are trained in the skills required in the job. For instance, soft skills are highly required if the associate is in a client facing role and requires constant communication with the vendor. This will also help in maintaining a calm and peaceful environment amongst colleagues. The other way is to assign a mentor to each trainee, so that the mentor can constantly monitor the activities of the new associate and can guide them in case of an unpleasant circumstance, thereby avoiding a situation in which the person comes across as non cooperative. To conclude, if the associates are trained well, the problem of lacking personality skills can be improved. Therefore, the responsibility lies with the parent company that they invest time in training the new joiners as per their requirements.