some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. what are the causes? suggest possible solutions

Nowadays, it is becoming a trend to find that newly recruited staff lack some basic interpersonal skills. Although certain factors has been identified as the cause of this deficiency, but there are ways to solve this problem. This essay will discuss some of the causes and as well suggest possible solutions to this evolving menace. Lack of certain interpersonal skills among new staff in some business organizations has been observed to stem from the fact that more often that not the recruitment process of some organizations are inadequate. As some business organisations fail to provide their new employees with adequate training to intimate them of the core skills needed to enable them function optimally in their new roles. For instance, a report from a recent survey done in Lagos showed that organizations who train their new staff tend to have employees with a better understanding of their roles and develop the skills needed. This survey portrayed the importance of proper training of new employees after recruitment. Also, some business organizations tend to focus appraisal criteria on personal achievements rather than team or cooperative achievements. This has made most new staff concentrate more on personal tasks, giving them no opportunity to develop cooperative skills which are developed when employees engage more in group tasks. To solve this problem, it is paramount that organizations put certain measures in place. Firstly, an adequate training process for all new staff, which should involve intimating and teaching them the core skills required such as cooperative skills. For example, new employees should be made to spend some time in every department of the organization as this would help them understand the essence of having good interpersonal relationships. Secondly, appraisal of new employees should involve an evaluation of certain skills including cooperative skills. For example, new staff from each department should be given joint tasks to execute and their performance in such tasks should be evaluated. This would enable them to develop cooperative skills. In conclusion, although it is fast becoming a popular thing to find that newly recruited staff lack core skills such as cooperation skills, but with the identification of some of the causes and the suggested possible solutions this would soon be history.