Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions.

The importance of interpersonal skills among employees can never be overemphasized. It has been discovered by many companies that their new employees do not have basic interpersonal skills. This essay will discuss why this is so and suggest measures that can be taken to improve the situation. Unlike many years ago, the university curricula has changed significantly, a lot of elective courses that teach skills needed in the market place have been replaced with more courses in the same field of study. Hence, graduates are only informed in their field of study and have little or no idea of any other thing thereby causing graduates to become a burden on their first employer after graduation. Also, a company that employs people with little or no work experience is prone to having this challenge as people with previous work experience have repeatedly proven to be more aligned with the work environment and possess interpersonal skills than new graduates. Many companies have reported that they spend about forty percent of their total revenue on training new employees, which is double the amount they spent ten years ago for the same purpose. In order to prevent the negative impact of lack of interpersonal skills among new employees in the organization, management of such businesses should enrol their new employees for trainings that will teach them skills like teamwork, cooperative skills and many more. In addition, new employees should be made to realize the negative impact of their lack on the organizational goals. This will help them to be self aware and consciously work towards being better. Nigerian institute of personnel management have reported that companies that train their employees achieve organizational goals more easily than those who do not. In conclusion, although companies may suffer due to the lack of interpersonal skills among their new employees, this can be prevented by taking adequate measures like training of these people.