Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skill. What are the causes and suggest possible solutions.

Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skill. What are the causes and suggest possible solutions. In the present world, there is an alarming tendency that younger employees have in the shortage of communication skills and teamwork spirit. In this essay, I will investigate a few reasons for this tendency and propose possible solutions to address the problem. There are underlying causes behind the young people’s lack of essential interpersonal abilities. Firstly, educational system itself is held accountable for the weak social-related skills of fresh employees since the school syllabus places excessive emphasis on theoretical knowledge rather than practical skills. For example, in Vietnam, students only focus on learning academic subjects to achieve excellent scores and ignore participating in social activities; therefore, after graduating, they are incapable of co-operating and handling group work in an effective manner. Additionally, the design modern workplace might also the culprit of the problem. In fact, in numerous large companies, employees are given their own cubicles and assigned with independent work, which reduces their chances to exchange words with others. However, I believe that the shortage of co-operative and communication skills which occurs in the working market could be reduced by the implementation of solutions below. The first one is that schools and universities are recommended to make changes in their curriculum, focusing more on soft skill sets. For example, debate competitions, extra-curriculum clubs and voluntary activities should be encouraged for students to take part in to sharpen their hands-on abilities. Another measure is that more opportunities for interaction amongst co-workers should be promoted with appropriate workplace design and task assignment. To be more specific, it is advisable for companies to have open space instead of separated zones and create group projects in combination with individual tasks. In conclusion, the insufficiency of fundamental social-relating skills is becoming very common due to the poor education system as well as working structure. I suggest that students should be equipped with soft skills regularly and employees should be given more chances to communicate.