Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television for children.

In the current world, children are more accustomed to being indulged with computers and televisions than usual. They are reluctant to go outside and do physical work and are content with the very limited entertainment they obtain through these electronic mediums. I would agree with this aspect and would like to point out that, even though there are a lot of advantages and pros with televisions, they have their own share of disadvantages too. Generally speaking, television is an excellent form of mass media that has the capacity to bring us information from miles across the globe. Usage of televisions, when done right, can be really helpful in gaining knowledge and knowing how things are in the world that is not directly accessible to us. To children, this provides them a way to learn more about the world without encouraging extra effort from their end. Science shows, news and other such educational programs which are constructed to be suitable for children, can encourage and kindle their interest and passion towards education and knowledge. These kinds of shows have the capability to bring forward intellectuals, who are wrought from very small ages. The other side of the coin is where these children get addicted and occupied with the more entertaining aspects of the television. Instead of using entertainment mediums like cartoons and slapstick comedies sparingly, children, nowadays, use television mostly for such purposes. Compared to earlier days, the frequency of the educational programs become less while the other programs are seeing an upward spiral due to their tendency to be taken up easily by children. In conclusion, I would say that Television has the power and outlook to be life-changing for children, but they have to be used sparingly all the while, physical activities and sports should be encouraged. Children should be appreciated for watching science shows and the entertainment medium must only be used recreationally when education grows tough.