It's generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for music and sport, and others are not. However, it's sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Talent and success are always interlinked. Some say people are born with certain talents in fields like music and sport, other say any one can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. In this essay I will discuss both the views and state my own opinion. Some people are born talented, we can find such people in many fields, especially in the fields of music and sport. Beethoven is a known genius in the field of music. He was able to compose a symphony at the age of 8, without any formal training. Indian chess champion Viswanathan Anand was a born genius and was phenominal in the field of Chess from his childhood. People like them are extremely talented and are also very successful in their respective fields. On the contrary, there are people who are not born talented, but acquired the skill after rigorous practice. Writer Malcolm Gladwell explained this phenomenon as 10000 hour rule. He argues that any great in their field before achieving something worthwhile would have put in 10000 hours of practice. He cites the example of Bill gates and how his practice on school computers from his childhood helped him in writing code for windows later in his life. Many famous sports persons like Sachin Tendulkar, Micheal Jordan and others have also said in various interviews that practice is what helped them achieve this immense success and stardom. To conclude, in my opinion talent can be both innate or acquired. People in both categories have achieved success. It is all up to the individual of how they can shape their own destiny.