During last twenty years, the assessment of students has undergone a major transformation. Many educational institutions have shifted their focus from traditional examination towards a variety of innovative assessment techniques, as they believe traditional examination results are not often true to student’s ability.

In a modern society, traditional examination to estimate student’s ability was in place and this is still in use in many parts of the world. However, a more suitable and modern approach has been used by many schools and this is often regarded as a better technique to evaluate a pupil’s learning ability and knowledge. I opine that innovative modern assessment technique is more suitable. It is undoubtedly true that conventional exam system has a big flaw and this makes it very difficult to evaluate the true knowledge of a pupil. Particularly, in standard paper-based exam system, students can memories answers to a few questions and pass the exam with a good grade so with little knowledge on a subject one can get a higher grade by memorizing answers. Therefore, many educational institutions are shifting towards theses assessment tests from the traditional exam system. Furthermore, unconventional form of testing a student’s skill and knowledge can be quite effective and bring out a better result. For instance, presentation, course work and other modern methods of evaluation can examine students from various perspectives and when the result is combined, the indication is far more accurate. These actions scrutinize a learner’s creativity, knowledge depth, creativity, ability to use the knowledge in the practical world and are important parameters of a student’s reasoning and reflection of learning ability. Hence, it is obvious that modern assessment technique is more appropriate. In conclusion, in my personal point of view, evaluating a learner accurately is utterly important and the best method for this should be in place. No doubt the formal examination system had been used for a long but the time has come to adopt a more accurate and practical assessment system like assessment through presentation and course work.