Buying things on the internet, such as books, air tickets, and groceries is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last few years, online shopping becomes a top trend, as an increasing number of people buying goods and services through the internet. While there are some evident drawbacks of such activity, I opine that the benefits of this tendency are greater in numbers. The Internet has changed the way people purchasing goods and services. One obvious drawback of such activity is the deliverance of poor quality materials. This is because when the customer orders electronically, they might unable to physically inspect the quality and the quantity of the products, which is an essential part of trading, and this could lead to a severe problem for them later on. To illustrate, there is ongoing litigation against eBay Incorporation about the delivery of expiry food, which caused serious injury to its customer. Nevertheless, the drawbacks, people are facing from e-commerce are overshadowed by its advantages. One prominent benefit is people can save a considerable amount of time and effort by simply order their goods while sitting at home. The time which they save could be spent on other household activities. Furthermore, people can buy products and services at a very competitive price. This is usually because of such an online store purchasing goods in bulk quantity from the factory at a fairly lower price so that they can offer to their customers at a bargain price. For example, Amazon currently offering their customer flat 50% discounts on books and other reading materials. In conclusion, while people still facing difficulties in respect of the quality of online products, I believe the drawbacks are eclipsed by it the benefits such as time-saving and cost-effectiveness.