More and more people are choosing to consume ready to eat food rather than cooking the food themselves. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

Increasingly, many people are choosing ready-to-eat food compared-to-home cooked food. While there are many advantages to this, there are also some drawbacks that will be discussed by the writer. There are few main benefits to eating an instant meal. Firstly, it is getting widely available everywhere today. Many of these foods can be found easily in convenience store, such as seven-eleven, and to prepare it, consumer just need to heat it up in the microwave, which in many cases, also found in these stores. In addition, food suppliers started to offer a variety of food choice. For example, in Singapore, one can find chicken rice, Korean kimchi fried rice and cheeseburger. On another recent example, the famous Singapore chili crab is also available in a vending machine. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages ought to be noted. A major disadvantage is that these foods has been prepared for some time. For example, from the interview of the chili crab vending machine, the owner admitted that the crabs have been prepared between a month to two months ago. Additionally, these foods may loss its freshness and nutrition compared to a home-cooked food. Things like vegetables and fruits will not be as good as when it is fresh. Consequently, it could affect one’s health in the long run. In conclusion, choosing to consume ready-to-eat meal gives benefits such as practicality and variety. However, there are serious concern about its nutrition and freshness compared to a home cooked food. Therefore, it is necessary to keep a balance between the two choice for one to enjoy the benefits from both worlds.