Some believe that it is the responsibility of people to take care of the environment. Others say it is the government that should take care of the environment.

There has been a persistent increase in environmental problems since the last decade. Air pollution and water pollution have become major concerns for people as well as governments around the globe. Some individuals think that it is the accountability of people to safeguard our environment. However, others feel that the government should take appropriate actions to save our environment from various pollutants. This essay will discuss both views and why people and governments are responsible for ensuring the safety of the environment. To begin with, governments have all the power to ensure a sustainable environment. Since governments can formulate new regulations, they can maintain appropriate levels of air and water pollutions. For example, the Indian government has issued an advisory to automobile industries to abide by BS-VI emission standards by 2020. It will reduce carbon emissions from vehicles that run on fossil fuels and will help to lower air pollution. Conversely, some people think that we all are responsible for the protection of our environment. They usually have the reason that if people become aware of their duties towards the environment, then they will prefer to live in a way that will not harm the environment. They will educate their friends and family members as well. For instance, according to a survey published in The Tribune newspaper, 70% of urban people have stopped using plastic bags while purchasing goods from their markets. Therefore, people should be accountable to ensure a safe environment. In my opinion, it is significantly crucial that both people and governments should coordinate with each other for the betterment of our environment. Individuals should not only respect and follow different regulations set up by their respective governments for environmental safety but also opt environment- friendly lifestyles.