In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they like.

The extent to which youth follows the rules, in itself, it is a very complex issue, since children across the world grow up in different cultures. In India, youngsters are expected to be submissive to their parents and other adults around them. But, it is not the case with the Western countries on the planet where children follow the motto ‘Thou shalt do what thou wilt’ promoted by the celebrities and rock stars of the region. I believe, following strict rules has both, the advantages as well as serious drawbacks as discussed below. Nowadays, the strict rules of behaviour are creating a responsible and respectful attitude to the teenagers, they will become mature and a respectful adult. This forms a stable society which is virtually free from the negative trends, like the prostitution and drug abuse. If children do not obey the straightforward concept of behaviour, they may take a wrong path and become an indolent. It creates a burden on the society. The government has to find a better way to cater for these social ills. In addition, forcing on the champs to follow strict rules of behaviour does not always yield a positive result as discussed above, most of the time it backfires and works against society. For example, teenagers are more likely to do the opposite work, which they are instructed, because they want to be an independent person. The scholars should have rights to exercise their free will and develop their own pattern of personality. Imposing strict rules, may simply destroy the individuality of children. At the end of the day, it is clear that children should be guided by rules, but these rules should not be imposed on them because as human beings, they need to have room to develop their own traits of character and adopt a behaviour pattern of their own.