Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages.

Popularity of social media has increased in recent year among all age groups, especially among teenagers. It has a lot to offer such as meeting new people, faster ways of sharing information and for entertainment purpose. On the flips side there is a risk involved in sharing data on social media which can be misused. I am of the opinion that, it's advantages outweigh disadvantages because of information security. I will discuss both the views of the topic. To begin with, social media website like Facebook and Twitter have opened doors for meeting new people and sharing information across the world. This has a positive impact on the society because finding like minded people and exchanging information has always been a challenge. Moreover, entertainment has been the most popular activity on social media among all age groups, apart from that access to flash news and spreading awareness among people is faster and reliable with the help digital media. For instance, in India social media played a vital role in saving thousands of lives by spreading information to thousands of people during the cyclone. However, there is a risk involved in sharing personal data on the internet because people can access and misuse the information in spreading false news and creating fake documents. In addition to that, blackmailing and following people is one of the most common activity. In recent years awareness in securing information and maintaining privacy has been a top priority in social media with the help of information security. To illustrate, a teenager attempted suicide due to false spreading of information and photographs of him on social media. In conclusion, no doubt social media has more advantages and opened several ways of accessing information and connecting with new people, in spite of the risk involved.