Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

In this present world, usage of social media is increasing every single day. Nevertheless, sharing personal information with other people on social media web sites contains some risks. Both advantages and disadvantages of social media usage will be thoroughly analysed before drawing a reasoned conclusion. First of all, one advantage of social media is that people can keep themselves updated about the recent news by just using social media platforms such as twitter and facebook. For example, the majority of people in the world use twitter to share some information about a particular news or a situation. So, people can easily get some information from twitter in order to keep themselves updated. I think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages of it. However, there might be some content on the social media which can be harmful for children’s development. For instance, children may be exposed to some adult content when surfing on Youtube, since there are no limitations on accessing most of the social media websites. Nonetheless, this problem can be easily overcome by just putting some restrictions on harmful contents. In fact, many social media companies have recently announced that they are working on putting some age limitations for children in terms of accessing harmful content. To sum up, social media is becoming more popular every single day and it is agreed by many that there both advantages and disadvantages of social media. However, after a thorough analysis of both sides, it is concluded that benefits of social media outweigh the drawbacks of it.