Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Not only young kids but elderly people are also getting addicted to social media. Nowadays, people are posting their status, photos and other personal details on the internet without thinking twice. There are both advantage and disadvantages of using social media. There are several disadvantages of utilizing internet for sharing personal details. Some people are excessively using these social media sites, and they are glued to their phones. They even chat to their friends over internet only. This can have severe negative impact on their mental health and can cause depression. People are more exposed to frauds due to increasing usage of social media. We have lot of personal information on social media like email address, phone number, date of birth. Hackers can get your information and can used it against you. Without proper supervision, children can be exposed to adult content or befriend some strangers with ill intentions. So, there are both psychological and security issues for using social media. However, there are some benefits as well. People can follow certain celebrities or people to get curated information to their liking. Apart from this, they can follow some news channels or educational channel for obtaining new information. Furthermore, people can now connect easily with a friend they had lost touch in childhood and share important information with them. So, better connectivity with people and ease of information flow are important advantages of using social media. In conclusion, the disadvantages of social media usage can be very damaging to a person, so in my opinion the cons overpower the pros. On top of it, everyone should be careful about what they share and with whom they share their information. Personal information in wrong hand can be deadly.