In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places.

Smoking in public areas is banned in many areas over the globe. This essay totally upholds the prohibition of smoking in common areas, and that is in order to protect the society’s health, and to avoid setting inappropriate role models for the new generations. Firstly, this essay will shed the light on how relevant laws could enhance the public health and secondly, we will discuss how that could dissuade youngsters from being a future smokers. To begin with, enacting legislations to prevent smoking in places such as parks, zoos or children playgrounds is an important factor for maintaining a healthy society, this is because the secondhand smoke negatively impacts the people around, and the consequences vary from triggering asthma fits to causing lung cancer. For example, the World Health Organisation (WHO) recorded in the last decade serveral new asthma cases caused mainly by the repetitive exposure to secondhand smoking. Another important factor is that enforcing restrictions on public smoking effectively participates in decimating the levels of teenage smoking, because adolescents will not regard the smoking as a normal process prevailing in the society. This is to say that when teenagers sees smoking is common almost everywhere that could increase the likelihood of them picking up such bad habits, especially when they find a great percentage of the available role models engaging in such activities. As a vivid example, a research paper that was published in 2016 by The Guardian, showed that enforcing legislations that banned smoking in multiple public areas in England actually reduced the percentage of young smokers by 16%. To conclude, this essay supports the criminalizing of public smoking because it enhances the overall society health, in addition to lowering the figures of smokers under the age of 18. It is recommended that litigators around the word put forward similar laws, and governments should not only support, but enforce them as well.