With an increasing population communicating via the internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past.

One of the most debatable issues in the last decade has been the effects of new media, such as the Facebook chat, Instagram and twitter, on human communication. Some people think, that as a result of the increased communication through the internet, face to face interactions will vanish. Others, including myself, believe that direct communication has many benefits which makes it vital for our society. In the following essay, I will provide arguments and examples to support my opinion. One argument in favour of my opinion, is that text messages can not convey gestures, such as facial expressions or a physical contact. As a result, it is difficult to fully understand the person we talk with. For example, when a men is meeting a girl for the first time, facial gestures like a smile, or physical contact like holding hands, will allow the boy to understand his position regardless of the verbal discussion. This example demonstrates that non-verbal communication is as important as verbal communication, and that new age media can not adress these important aspects. Another reason to support my opinion is that when communicating through the internet, it is very easy to lie. Consequently, many people do not fully trust the ones they are talking to online. When having a conversation via the Watssup application, for example, a person can post a profile image that does not reflect his looks. Also, people can give wrong informtion about their location, jobs and age. According to the New York Times, for example, more than 25% of the people reported giving false personal information online. Furthermore, more than 30% stated they do not trust personal information given to them by other users online. This shows, that online communication is not trsut worthy as personal communication, and in order to fully know a person, direct interaction is vital. In conclusion, I do not agree with the above statement, and believe that online communications has many disadvantages, namely the lack of non-verbal communication, and higher chances of malignaring, as opposed to personal communication. As a result, we should meet people if we are truly interested in knowing them.