ome people are afraid to go out for fear of being robbed on streets. Still, there are robberies that happen inside houses. What do you think is the best thing a person can do to ensure his/her own security? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As a matter of fact, safety has been a paramount factor of life quality of humankind. Indeed, when safety is the case, we should consider it from multiple aspects. In other words, security could be defined based on statistics of crimes rate in society as an external point of view and, also, it has been regarded as a mental state and feeling from a psychological perspective. I put my forth in the following paragraphs which help us to improve our security in both directions of mental state and in practice. Fundamentally, the importance of preventive actions to reduce the probability of being in danger of criminals can not be denied. Preventive actions could be divided into two main categories. Firstly, individuals should increase their awareness and physical skills. Secondly, they should equip their properties with safety systems and arm themselves with defensive utilities. Most of the offenders misuse victims trust, unawareness or any other security weaknesses to commit their crimes. Actually, criminals always evaluate victims’ situation; that is why preventive steps reduce the risk of being in danger to the great extent. On the other hand, people should enhance their mental state of security up-to-date to be aware of common crime trends. By increasing our knowledge about everyday high-risk situations in our environment, basically, we could take deterrent steps to prevent such dangers. The flip side of the coin is that most of the attacks are based on the victim’s surprise; therefore if we increase our knowledgeability about such subjects, we can markedly reduce the risk of being a victim. It is also of great benefit to us to be more confident, which could be reflected in our manner and behaviour that is recognizable by others, particularly delinquents. Finally, as I mentioned above, being confident has a significant effect to dissuade wrongdoers. To sum up, in my way of thinking, practical ways to enjoy security are our awareness about common crime trends, security equipment such as CCTV or security systems, and learning martial arts or self-defence abilities.