Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in the world of technology and information flow, the Internet and Social Networking has become a common practice for people of all ages. Although, the information flow and leak has a numerous disadvantages, I believe that Social Media is more beneficial for contemporary society. A development of the Internet and use of Social Media has brought a number of benefits. First of all, Social Media platforms has unlocked the ways for communication with people throughout the globe, which ensures a better learning and understanding of other cultures. Secondly, those platforms also provide an opportunity to expand one’s personal interests, such as hobbies thanks to the information sharing in various online communities and groups. For instance, with my personal interest in cosmetics and skin care, I found it extremely useful to follow some of the skin care experts in Instagram and Facebook. However, there surely are obvious threats and drawbacks of Social media. Firstly, due to lack of parental control, children and teenagers are in danger of being exposed to an inappropriate content, that could affect their mental state. Besides, a possible leak of personal data could endanger a private life and even lead to frauds or real-life danger. As shown by news, there were many cases, when leak of celebrities’ personal information attracted a mentally unstable stalkers, who have put actor’s or actress’s life under a risk. To conclude, it must be said that Social Media use contains a lot of danger to one’s personal life, and it is everybody’s choice whether to upload data. However, I personally believe that with the possibility of self and global development, the benefits of Social Media outweigh its drawbacks.