Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

Smoking is injurious to health. Not only it has a deteriorating effect on a person who is actively doing it, but also for those who are in the vicinity of him/her. To curtail the enlarging negative consequences this practice should be strictly banned in public places. I am in strong agreement with this statement. Smoking is a type of acute addiction, that for sure is having all sorts of negative implications for a person directly involved in it. For instance, common cases of lung cancer and mouth ulcers have become a matter of serious concern. Chain smokers are having their lives at greater risk. This problem has percolated much deeper than we think. People who are not into this vice, are passively affected. The smoke that comes from the cigarettes when inhaled by non-smokers is posing a grave threat to their physical well-being. Even though many are aware of the fact that this could lead to immense financial losses too, but they seem to be reluctant to accept. In public places, people hardly follow rules and hence feel free to exhale those poisonous fumes out of their mouths. At common places small children waiting at their bus-stops, expecting mothers and elderly are easy prey to this annoying habit. People should understand that there might be some asthmatic patients too, so there should be a complete prohibition of this. In spite of campaigns and advertisements, the problem is still increasing and therefore air quality index is going from bad to worse. In conclusion, we should be thoughtful of our acts and actions. In order to understand the gravity of the situation, this is a high time that we unanimously agree that this is not a kind of style statement. We should think about the people around us and play the part of a responsible citizen. So whether anybody is actively or passively involved, health is surely getting deteriorated.