Smoking not only harms the smoker but also those who are nearby. Therefore smoking should be banned in public places.

Medical studies have shown that smoking not only affects the health of the smokers but also has several ill-effects on the people close by. As a result, many are of the opinion that it should restrict smoking in public areas. Although there are views on both sides, I strongly believe that putting a ban is the most appropriate course of action. The opponents of this argument think so because they have a carefree attitude. In other words, such people do not worry about how their actions can harm them and other people in their vicinity. For example, people smoke on footpath without considering that other people may feel uncomfortable and they do not have an option to move away in case it suffocates them. Without a doubt, legislation on smoking in public areas is needed to protect people who do not smoke. Moreover, there are a plethora of convincing arguments in favour of a ban. First, tobacco contains carcinogenic components that can cause breathing problems and lungs or throat cancer to people who consume it and also to people who indirectly inhale smoke. For example, young children and old people who have weaker respiratory systems compared to adults are more prone to such diseases.   Moreover,  smoking in public fascinates young children to delve into it. In other words, teenagers and school-going children get attracted to cigarettes without being aware of its consequences. Indeed, smoking in public places not just affects health but also spoils youth. In conclusion, it is clear that the government should ban consumption of tobacco in public places. To achieve it, there should be dedicated areas for smoking and strict punishments should be imposed on people who fail to comply. This improves the heath of thousands of people and is most definitely a positive development.