Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

There is absolutely no doubt about the health threats consumption of tobacco poses to smokers. There are divergent views as to whether banning of smoking in public places is the right decision or not. While there are some concerns about the health risks consumption of tobacco causes, I disagree that the use in public places should be prohibited. To begin with, a restriction on public consumption of cigarette would have a negative effect on the profitability of the manufacturers and government. Production as a whole is a capital intensive business and investors would have put in a lot of money to set up the businesses. The investors deserve a return on their investments. The less profitable these businesses are, the taxes they are able to pay to the government at the end of every year. Also, tobacco is highly taxed in most jurisdictions and a ban on the public consumption would likely reduce consumption which would then reduce government revenue from sales tax. In addition, the cost of compliance to new laws is usually very expensive. The regulators would need to embark on some infrastructural development that would help them with monitoring compliance and successful conviction of offenders. The government would probably have to set up a court to attend to cases of noncompliance. These would likely be funded using taxpayers money that could be utilized for more critical aspects of the economy such as education and transportation. In conclusion, although tobacco is considered to be a leading cause of cancer for consumers and people around them, a ban on public consumption would be detrimental to the economy as a whole. Not only would it reduce authorities’ revenue, compliance would also come at a huge cost.