Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

The earlier we can ban  smoking in public places, the better it would be for the human kind. Having foreseen the same, many offices and governing bodies imposed a strict ban on public smoking. This measure is generally applauded by the majority of mass. However, the opposing minority interrupt this ban as an act of arrest on one's free will. Let us discourse on this moot issue below. It is generally agreed and even proven with scientific studies, that smoking is injurious to health. Health problems that smoking can induce are numerous. Cancer is among the major detrimental effects of smoking on one’s health.   As it is rightly displayed on the cigar packets, smoking is one of the primary factors leading to cancer. Furthermore, effects of smoking on the systemic and peripheral circulation in the human body are appalling, as put forward by medical experts. The havoc of this insane habit is so horrifying, that research points towards its possible harmful effects on unborn children, even. Smoking is considered as a culprit among the many, behind the congenital birth defects and anomalies. Another factor significant to this context would be the financial constraints imposed by smoking. In many developing countries, where people work on daily wages, the habit of smoking has an atrocious impact on their quality of life. In the majority of the mediocre families, around the world, smoking drains the significant part of their family budgets. For example, I witnessed many problems with reference to my father being a chronic smoker and the financial crisis it caused. The amount of carbon and other toxic elements exhaled to the atmosphere by active smokers has reached such dizzy heights that its effect on passive smokers is more or less a reality now. In fact, the effect of first-hand smoke is seen permeable to even the second and third-hand smokers in the spectrum. The significance of the public ban on smoking is not just justifying but a necessity as it calls for. As a result, it is widely banned in some offices and institutions. Awareness programmes are being conducted all around the world against this habit. Though the public ban on smoking is an individual constraint to one's freedom, considering the passive effects of smoking I would strongly accord win the ban. In my view, this would be a punitive measure to safeguard the health and wealth of the public or the society.