Many criminals commit crimes after they were set free. Research indicates that the people who were convicted criminals would often commit crimes when they are set free. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this issue?

Nowadays in many countries, the crime rate is at a mammoth rate. Once the criminal is set free from prison, they will do the crime again. There are a number of reasons for this. I will discuss this in the below paragraphs. Firstly, when the criminals are sent to prison, if they become close to criminals   who committed notorious crimes, they will try to follow them. Also, in some jails, the criminals do some illegal activities by sitting in jail itself. Sometimes, they bring drugs inside the jail premises itself. If the criminals who committed a crime for the first time comes in contact with these criminals, they slowly become drug addicted. This not only disturbs their mind in a negative way as well, but they will not correct themselves once they are released from jail. Secondly, the society does not accept criminals once they are released. There are cases when even a family will get isolated from criminals.   Also, criminals find it very difficult to get jobs. This makes the criminal's mental upset and for the survival, they repeat the crime again and again. In order to solve this problem, the government should take some steps. Firstly, in jail, the system should be made in such a way that, the criminals will not indulge themselves in illegal activities. They should be monitored continuously inside the jail. Also, there should be cultural, spiritual programs organised in jail, so that the criminals mind gets prepared when they are released. In addition, criminals who are well talented in some activities like sports, arts, studies etc, should be encouraged. Convicts should be equipped with some useful skills during the detention period, as this will help them for survival after they released. One of the examples would be giving training on technical courses like plumbing or mechanical courses (Automobile repairs) or electronic repair courses etc. Thirdly, awareness should be created in the society so that the criminals are treated as normal human being's once they rejoin the society. There should be job opportunities given to the criminals depends on their talent and behaviour. To sum up, in my opinion, prevention is always better than cure. Criminals are like us, they are human beings. Some of them might commit crime due to the fact that situation makes them do. The government should create enough employment opportunities so that no one is unemployed. Also, there should be strict rules made about drug mafia so that no one gets into drug addiction. If the government takes these steps very effectively, we can expect crime free society in the near future.