Many criminals commit crimes after they were set free. Research indicates that the people who were convicted criminals would often commit crimes when they are set free. Why is this the case? What can be done to solve this issue?

In today’s modern world, the crime rate in everywhere around the globe is increasing at an alarming rate. A recent report research has shown that the continual growth in crime rate is significantly due to a large proportion of criminals will re-offend when they are released from prison. It is, therefore, important for us to establish the practical ways to tackle this problem. To some extent, I believe that if there is rehabilitation being done in jail, the criminals are unlikely to commit the crime again after they are out of the prison. Rehabilitation is crucial and must be carried out in jail to educate them what are the good values and what are the bad. This action will further encourage them to think about what they have done over the years. Once they realise what they did in the past are wrong, they will regret and may not re-offend whatsoever. Nevertheless, I have brainstormed and come out with the ideas that could be proved useful in kerbing this problem. To begin, there should be a change in the crime-related legislation. Those who commit serious crimes should be given a lengthy sentence to prison so that they have no opportunity to re-offend. Undoubtedly, it will indirectly become a deterrent to the would-be offender and thus helps to reduce the possibility of commit crimes after they are released from jail. In addition, the government should also arrange paid job to the criminals after they set free from prison, it is owing to the reason that they will not be facing financial hardships. According to a recent study conducted in Malaysia, most of the criminals will re-offend only when they have financial problems. In conclusion, I believe there are tonnes of ways government can take to cope with this problem and most of the criminals will not commit crimes again if they were given a chance to contribute to society like everyone else do and have a proper job to earn a living.