Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the interest of the public health, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products.

Since early in the present century, the detrimental effects of cigarettes and other tobacco products on health has received considerable attention. There is a widely held view that governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products for the sake of protecting public health. While there still remain some valid arguments to the contrary, it is my personal view that cigarettes and tobacco should be made illegal. First of all, it is an indisputable fact that not only does smoking affect negatively on the person smoking but it also has adverse impact on people surrounding. On individual scale, cigarettes and other tobacco products are high in nicotin and harmful chemical substances that are responsible for countless ailments and even death. Moreover, although I certainly agree that smoking can stimulate good mood and excitement, its cost and negative effects on health in the long run are significant. In other words, while smoking is beneficial in the long term, its long term effect are generally negative. Therefore, laws prohibiting smoking would be entirely justified. Further and even more importantly, people spend a great deal of money on cigarettes and other tobacco products per anum, which is really harmful to the host economy. It is estimated that it costs about 2 dollars to buy a pack of cigarettes and each adult consume approximately 2 packs every day. What is more is that it is prohibitively expensive to cure smoking- related ailments. It costs national budget millions of dollar yearly. It either costs smokers time and money to heal their illness or interrupt manufacturing because of the lack of healthy labor. By way of conclusion, I once again affirm my position that government should take the responsibility of controlling the trade and consume of cigarettes and other tobacco products for the sake of the shared benefit of society. In years to come, I believe that public education in terms of danger potential of smoking and laws banning consuming cigarettes and tobacco goods should be warranted.