Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on.

It is believed that a small organization should not conscript single women so that the cost of maternity leave will be avoided. In my opinion, despite the downfall in the paying of maternity leave, I disagree on this idea because hiring young women have several benefits, but mainly, it is an evident discrimination on gender. It has been required by the law that all companies must grant maternity leave benefits to their staff. It will be beneficial to all female employees but in a certain degree, companies will be affected negatively especially on the side of small-scale businesses. For a reason, that small companies do not have enough fund to support this regulation in all their female employees. Taken, for example, three girl staffs get pregnant within the same year, definitely, financial and staffing problem will arise. However, the intention of not qualifying all young ladies to a certain job is undoubtedly a sign of discrimination. Eventually, such circumstances would be known by the people, causing a bad reputation to the firm. In addition, recruiting an unmarried woman may decrease the company cost, for instance, experienced personnel demand for a high compensation whereas newly graduates tend to focus on finding a job to gain experience regardless of salary offered. Moreover, several employers favor single women staff owing to their flexibility and dedication to work. As a matter of fact, they can work extra hours compared to a family person whose priorities, focus, and time is divided between career and family. To conclude, small companies have been facing issues regarding maternity leave payments but barring females applicant to be employed is not an effective solution nor a reasonable one. All organization should also consider their positive impact on the business in general.