Small businesses should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on.

There are many criteria to be considered for the recruitment process, some of which is the gender and age of the candidate. Some argue that recruiters from the small firm should avoid a girl without child or prospective mother to decrease cost on the maternity leaves, while I believe they should hire an equal number of applicants from each group of age and gender. There are some bases of the view for not hiring a girl or a lady without a child. Firstly, when they go on a long leave, they need to be paid without any work which could not be feasible for a corporation with a limited workforce. For example, it would definitely hamper the business if one goes on leave from 6 employees. Secondly, after having a child, her efficiency would be adversely affected owing to the dual responsibilities of the child and the family. For instance, she may take further leaves for the regular check-up of her infant or could not extend the working hours. Thus, such leaves would certainly affect the small company. However, it seems to me that the benefits of hiring a young generation could alleviate these harms on the trade. Firstly, the salary of a fresher is far less than the highly experienced professionals, so hiring novice could diminish the cost of human resources. For example, two apprentices could be hired instead of one expert. Secondly, research has shown that recently passed out graduates could brainstorm better ideas than the experienced one. For instance, recently passed out computer engineers have much more knowledge of newer technologies; specifically, young girls possess higher ambitions regarding her career and job. To conclude, I believe that that the hirer should not consider the cost of maternity leave for long-run business rather than short term benefits. Young girls who constitute more than fifty per cent of the skilled workers could contribute to the success of the small enterprise by providing new ideas and insights which are essential for a newly established enterprise.