Many sports players advertise sport-related products. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Sports athletes have quiet the influence, especially on teenagers. They are admired and loved for the spirit that they promote, but also for their great looks and bodies. Many people would love to look like the sport stars that they see, and so, the media takes advantage of that and uses athletes to merchandise their products. Nevertheless, what could be the impact of this? Some of the advantages of these campaigns would include better health and hygiene. Lots of sportsmen promote health-related products, from running sneakers to antitoxin water to sport machines. . . Etc. They also make advertisement about the sort of deodorants, sprays and shampoos that they use. Given that, many sport followers would be inclined to buy the same products that these players promote, and use it to improve their health and looks. However, there are some disadvantages to this. Some of the advertised products are too expensive and aren't quiet suitable to many users. For instance, some sports machines can cause a lot of harm if misused. And since plenty of people tend to copy their idols' every move; they would rush to buy these things regardless of the cost-that might not suit their income- and regardless of their capabilities. This can result in them harming themselves or ending up with lower money in their bank accounts and they don’t even realise the damage. In conclusion, athletes have a great influence, but they should try using that influence to benefit their audience, rather than trying to make extra money out of it.