Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The old traditional method of smacking a child is still being debated and frowned upon. Some parent debate as to the best form of discipling, most believe that hitting a child is the best way to correct their bad behavior. This essay will argue that smacking a child is absolutely unnecessary despite the rising popularity in parent. Parent gave good reasons for smacking their children as they feel it is the best method of parenting. They are justifiably worried that if they do not continue the old traditional method of smacking, these children will become a nuisance to society. Parent fear indiscipline if you do otherwise, also this is a quick way to implement correction. Indeed a recent study by the New York Times, state that 90 percent of mothers hit their child and it works tremendously for them. Also it is believed by some that “if you spare the rod, you spoil the child “ so if it works for them why should they stop. These few instances could be why parent think physical punishment is best in terms of discipling a a young girl or boy. Despite the effectiveness of corporal punishment, I totally disagree that it is the best form of discipline. They are better ways which has proven to be effective. Physical punishment can lead a child to be aggressive and difficult to handle. This could also be detrimental to their mental health. For example, a statistic revealed the response to children who said they preferred more lenient method of discipline than physical hand fist punishment. In this case children revealed that they would rather be spoken to than spanked. This essay argued that smacking a child is despicable and they are better method of discipline. In my opinion corporal punishment is absolutely unacceptable despite what is thought best.