News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays pictures accompany news stories on TV and in the newspapers very often. Some people believe that these pictures are more effective than words. I completely agree with this statement. Firstly, the pictures makes the news more memorable. For example details of accidents provided by pictorial illustrations make the audience more clear about the faults that has occurred and led to fatalities. This is because images are easy to draw attention and are retained by people for a longer time. Moreover, this will lead to more social awareness among public and can prevent future similar news to happen again. As a consequence, people will try to avoid having accidents with the prevention of similar mistakes. Secondly, due to pictures the people get clear conveying news. For instance, for every health program sponsored by the government of India there is a symbol and emblem which is correlates the cause and message to common people. This helps with sharing with them and accept the social perception easily. This has led to success of pregnant women and baby health program and tuberculosis (TB) health program widely. Consequently, the awareness among illiterates who are unable to read can be increased by visual descriptions. Thus, it favours each strata of society (poor or rich) by spreading message of welfare and well being. To conclude, I would concede that pictures are more impactful. As these leads to more remembrance and clear conveyance to public even to illiterates. Overall, I am convinced that images are more important than only news.