Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express thoughts and ideas.

Societies sometimes pose restrictions on the ways of expression, which not only makes it difficult to express what is in the mind of an artist. Therefore, some people think that artists should be given full liberty in order to represent themselves by the piece of art in which they are addict like painting, music. While some people contradict this by saying that it is against the laws of any country and nobody is allowed to do anything for which the country law don’t allow to do. I personally disagree with the former view and in this I will discuss this scenario based on the examples of Oxford University research and Time Magazine survey to demonstrate points and support claims. Firstly, those who are in favour of the idea that artists are allowed to do what they want to do, don’t investigate the social barriers in which our societies are bound. Furthermore, humanity teaches us to keep other humans happy and advocates of freedom of artist’s action forget that may be that one person can result in the grief and pain of all the society by its actions. For example, Oxford University in 2016 conducted a research on freedom of speech and found out that there is more violence in those countries which give liberty of speech. So, from this example, it is clear that artists have to respect the rights and beliefs of that region whom it is representing. Secondly, some people regard liberty as playing with the sentiments of other people. This kind of attitude is not only destructible for any society, especially if an artist adopts this way. Additionally, it brings more happiness on the face of people if an artist thinks of them and think like them. Similarly, s survey of Time Magazine in 2016 suggests that artists are the ambassadors of the society and they have to respect this title in a good way. So from this example, it is clear that artists are the representative of that culture and they have to do something to help their culture in a positive way. To conclude, artists have the right of expression and they have the liberty to express it, but there are social limits for this and artists have to respect this limit for the betterment of their society. In the future, if governments will impose strict laws for any violence recorded in the name of speech, artists will perform in a better way.