Smacking children is the best form of discipline.

Smacking children have become increasingly popular among certain demographics of society. These people claim that giving corporal punishment is the superlative way of making the young ones disciplined. I entirely disagree with this proposition because it has an adverse effect on child psychology. It is fairly easy to comprehend why some individuals favour this unacceptable behaviour. This is mainly because they believe it would breed fear in younger people and assist them to become well-behaved individuals. If parents give some physical punishment to their offspring for doing something wrong, he will definitely hesitate to repeat the same thing in the future; consequently, he will become a disciplined person. For example, slapping a child when he mistreated his siblings means he will obviously be not misbehaving with other youngsters. In short, from these people’s perspectives, smacking youngsters are necessary in order to avoid them from engaging in anti-social acts. However, this idea does not seem judicious to me as it could cast a damaging effect on child psychology in the long run. Adolescent, who is subjected to corporal punishment all the times, is more likely to turn into rebellious adult. As they see their guardians hitting them or slapping them on minor mistakes, they become more aggressive and short-tempered. Being exposed to incessant physical violence weakens their psychology; therefore, they are unable to differentiate between acceptable and unacceptable behaviour. I believe instead of practising this cruel act, it’s better to deal child’s behavioural issues in polite way. Examples set of parents could largely help young minds to become accountable as they tend to imitate by observing from the environment. Conclusively, smacking is really a barbaric practice and parents who employ this act should be penalised. It’s the parents' responsibility to make wholesome atmosphere at home where child himself can learn discipline.