Should the government impose a heavy tax on private car owners to improve the public transportation system to reduce the traffic problem in many cities?

With the growing population all over the world, many cities are facing too much traffic problems including pollution and congestion. One of the solutions to this problem is the setting of a new tax to car owners. In return, this money could be used to improve public transports and roads. This essay will discuss advantages and disadvantages of this solution. First of all, the fact to tax private car owners heavily might deter plenty of drivers and car owners using their own vehicles and make them use more public transports in their city. The setting of this new tax could lead to a decrease of congestion and pollution issues. Furthermore, the harvested money from this new law will be used to remove less efficient and old transports and improve the degree of safety within the city. Indeed, we all know that a lot of people are afraid of public transports at night because of their lack of security. An improvement on this field can encourage other habitats to use public transportation. However, such a tax also contains disadvantages. Some inhabitants will not agree with this new law because it is another amount to pay at the end of the month. Besides, some people have no choice but to use their own cars to get to their working place which sometimes is located outside the cities where public transports are not available. It will also bring problems for those who live in the countryside and work in cities. To conclude, taxing private car owners could be a solution to the congestion and pollution problems by encouraging the use of public transports and imposing taxes only to rich populations who live in the city area would be a better solution, in my opinion.