In order to solve traffic problem, government should tax private car owners heavily and use that money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Congestion is a main issue in all big cities. Some people think that government should tax private car owners in order to improve public transportation and diminish the traffic problem. In this essay we will discuss why taxing private car owners is not a solution. To begin with, being a commuter is not possible for everyone. Indeed, some workers begin their jobs very early making the use of public transportation difficult or even impossible. For instance, a baker needs to begin preparing bread at dusk and will not be able to arrive at work by public transportation, because, in most cities they do not ride at that time of the day. Secondly, a great amount of citizens lives far away from their company, for many reasons like buying a house is cheaper or because they want to enjoy the quiet of the suburbs. They made that choice to enjoy their life, and by making them using the public transportation, they will waste their time on it and not enjoying quality time with their families. On the other hand, government needs to find a way to improve public transportation and make them more effective. Many people living in the cities could abandon their habit of riding their private car and using public transport if they would get subsidised by the government or received a pay increment from their employers. To sum up, I disagree that government should overtax private car owners because the richer will once again benefit from a two-speed system letting less wealthy people struggling with public transportation problems