Should parents read or tell stories to their children or should the children be encouraged to read books, watch movies or TV all by themselves?

Children and teenagers are always fond of tales. This is one of the key reasons why many parents tell/read them bedtime stories. Whether the guardian should narrate stories for their kid or they should be left to watch TV/movies, has been one of the most debated topics of the recent times. Some people would argue that storytelling creates a great bonding between the children and their parents. Others claim that by this act children can never become self-dependent. In this essay both the aspects of this statement would be discussed. Firstly, it is quite evident that parents who narrate tales to their children spend more time with them, as compared to those who don't. This in a way strengthens their relationship. For instance, research around the world has shown that children are more attached to those individuals who spend more time with them. Thus, it is quite apparent that storytelling does play a key role in relationship building between the children and their parents. Moreover, some argue that telling stories and in turn, spending more time with the kids does make them dependent on their parents. Take for example; the children who can keep themselves busy with books, movies etc. can adjust themselves in isolation from their parents if the situation demands so. Thus, it will help them grow personally and make them self-dependent. After analysing both the aspects of this argument, it is quite evident that storytelling makes children highly dependent on their parents. But the effects it has on relationship building is something which cannot be neglected. Thus, it can be concluded that storytelling is very rewarding in terms of building relationships and every parent should indulge themselves in it. It is also believed that in the coming future more and more parents will realise the importance of storytelling and will engage themselves with their kids.