In order to solve traffic problems, government should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

It is believed that the government should impose strict taxes on the use of private cars, and these taxes should be suggested to the development of public transport. This tendency has some drawbacks and benefits that will be discussed. On the one hand, putting restrictions on the usage of cars has considerable positive impacts. First and foremost, congestion on the roads can be removed thanks to this solution, as traffic problems are mostly created by a number of people driving cars. Public transportation can be improved by getting money from car owners. Moreover, if is comfort in public vehicles provided, there is no need to use cars. Therefore, by investing money got from car drivers public transport can be a comfortable form of commuting to other places. In addition, decreasing the number of vehicles can bring positive effects on the problem of air pollution. Since, nowadays, exhaust fumes from every type of transports destroy the ozone layer and spoil the quality of fresh air. Thus, all people should use one transport instead of different ones. On the other hand, this measure can result in some drawbacks. Firstly, while public vehicles will become more flexible and comfy, they always choose to take indirect ways, and it is waste of time for some people. Furthermore, decreasing number of car users can lead to crisis of car production companies. If they do not carry out their sales, they can go to the bankrupt. To conclude, although imposing taxes on private cars can arise some positive effects, such as decreasing congestion and protecting the quality of air, there are some drawbacks in terms of time consuming and development of such type of companies.