Nuclear technology can be used for the advancement and betterment of the world and at the same time it can be a great threat for the people of the world. Do you support that the nuclear technology should be used for constructive purposes?

It is believed that the development of nuclear technology should not be used for any destructive purposes, and it should only be used for some constructive activities. I personally agree with the statement and the following essay will discuss in details about the nuclear technology. To begin with, it is true that nuclear technology should only be used for some positive activities since it could be a serious threat for human kinds. The technology of nuclear can be utilised as a deadly weapon since it could be used to kill tens of thousands of people in just a few minutes. Besides that, the leakage of the nuclear plants could also give negative effect to human's health, as the radiation could increase the risk of down syndrome and cancer. One of the famous examples is the Chernobyl tragedy which had killed millions of Soviet people. Therefore, the United Nations should strictly monitor and control on countries that used nuclear technology. In spite of its negative effects, the nuclear technology could be beneficial for mankind. As the world still depending on fossil fuel as the main source of electricity these days, the nuclear technology could be used as a power plant. Many scientists have proven that nuclear electricity plant is more efficient and friendlier to the environment, as it produces less carbon. Besides that, some medical practitioners have used nuclear technology as one of the alternative methods for curing some diseases. Therefore, the technology of nuclear could be useful for the human being as long as it is used safely and proportionately. In conclusion, it is a fact that nuclear technology could be used for constructive or destructive purposes. I support that the technology should only be used for positive activities such as the power plant or as a medical treatment, and never be used for any negative purpose since it could be a serious threat for human's civilisation.